Competition Policy in the Digital Age: Priorities and Challenges for APAC Economies

9 October 2023 at 1pm AEDT / 11am JST / 10am SGT-TST / 7:30am IST

Following our series of webinars around competition in Australia, we invite you to a new session on regulatory priorities and challenges for APAC economies. A panel of experts from around the Asia-Pacific (APAC) region will be examining key regulatory developments in Europe, the United Kingdom, and the United States, and how these may offer valuable insights and lessons for digital economies in Australia, India, Japan, Singapore, and Taiwan.

Speakers will delve into the following key topics:

  • Analysis of the recently introduced ex-ante regulations – including the EU’s Digital Markets Act and the UK’s Digital Markets Bill – to identify lessons, priorities, and challenges that can be applied to APAC economies.
  • Evaluation of the suitability of these regulations considering local dynamics in Asia-Pacific and some of the pitfalls that economies in this region will want to avoid as they think about their own approaches.
  • Identification of the most effective approach for APAC countries to address complex digital competition challenges through nuanced discussions, thorough assessments, and constructive consultations.

The event will take the form of a virtual expert roundtable with an interactive audience Q&A segment.

Speakers:

  • James Panichi, APAC Senior Editor, MLex
  • Masayuki Atsumi, Partner, Miura & Partners
  • Yan Yu – Partner, RBB Economics
  • Dr. Andy Chen, Vice Chairperson, Taiwan FTC
  • Kirsten Webb, Partner, Clayton Utz

Related Articles

Space Militarisation in the Era of  Commercialisation

Space Militarisation in the Era of Commercialisation

Tuesday, 21 May 2024 at 14:00 BST | 15:00 CET

How will the era of commercialisation redefine the principles and practices of space militarisation? Join us for a Fireside Chat...

Africa